berceau d'Henry IV
Interior Visit

 

 

The cradle of Henri IV
Henri IV was born in 1553 to the 16e century. The cradle of Henri IV is a gigantic Turtle shell surrounded of a helmet, spears and flags decorated each of blazons. A gold crown maintains spears, a golden heaume, surmounted of a white plume, dominate the all.

Behind the shell there is a tapestry. There is also a bed where he slept when he was more aged.

Henri's big parents offered the shell of turtle, the H is the initial of Henri III of Albret.

 

The Lounge of Receipt
The blue Japanese vases representing a bird in cage decorate the room of receipt, as well as a statue of Henri IV being a child (XIX century). A beautiful chimney sculpted throne to the bottom of the room. On this chimney rests a beautiful pendulum dating the time of Louis XIV. A chandelier hangs the ceiling majestically. This ceiling is formed of squares (ceiling to caisson), it is in ocher wood. On squares of the ceiling are written down the initial H and M, those of grandparents of Henri IV (Henri and Marguerite). Two big vases rest on tables, on these vases is written down a H (Henri). Vases are made in china of Sevres, they represent the installation of the statue of Henri IV in Paris on the Bridge-nine. A marvelous Dutch armchair welcomed Henri IV once. This room was the ancient Tinnel in the time of Gaston Fébus.

La Table des Cents Couverts

The Table of the Hundred Covered
Of French origin, the table was installed to the castle under Louis-Philippe. Manufactured to drown some and in oak, the table at hundred covered can welcome hundred men and hundred covered as indicates him its name. Of oval shape, it measures 18m of long and 2m of large in its center. The table is entirely removable since calm on trestles.

It is situated in the big lounge. The lounge is immense. A statue of Henri IV, surrounded of a sumptuous porch in sculpted stone, occupies the bottom of the piece. Five tapestries decorate walls. Big windows to the green curtains illuminate the piece. Magnificent chandeliers ornament the ceiling. About hundred chairs is aligned against the wall. The lounge is very impressive !

Rooms and beds...
Beds to canopies have been manufactured toward 1400. One can admire some of it to the castle of Pau. It is beds with a " sky " . This sky is in sculpted wood. The sculpture is inspired directly of the architecture. When people went to bed, they saw beautiful cloths to the dark enough colors. The tapestry is herself decorated of gold leaves. there is still on beds of pillows or bolsters because people slept seated. Beds were high. A stool to three marches permitted to reach the bed.

berceau d'Henry IV
Visite Intérieure

Le Château de Pau se visite à l'aide de conférenciers qui vous expliquent pièce par pièce l'histoire mais aussi la vie au Château. Il existe au Château une trés grande Collection de Tapisserie de Gobelin. Le Château ne fut pas un Château Fort en tant que forteresse ce qui lui permis de garder bon nombre de pièce et d'objets en état.

 

Le berceau d'Henri IV
Henri IV est né en 1553. Le berceau d'Henri IV est une carapace de Tortue géante entourée d'un casque, de lances et de drapeaux ornés chacun de blasons. Une couronne en or maintient les lances, un heaume doré, surmonté d'un panache blanc, domine le tout.
Les grands parents d'Henri ont offert la carapace de tortue, le H est l'initiale d'Henri III d'Albret.

 

 

Le Salon de Réception
Les vases japonais bleus représentant un oiseau en cage ornent la salle de réception, ainsi qu’une statue d’Henri IV étant enfant (XIX siècle). Une belle cheminée sculptée trône au fond de la salle. Sur cette cheminée repose une belle pendule datant de l’époque de Louis XIV. Un lustre pend majestueusement du plafond. Ce plafond est formé de carrés (plafond à caisson), il est en bois ocre. Sur les carrés du plafond sont inscrites les initiales H et M, celles des grands-parents d’Henri IV (Henri et Marguerite). Deux grands vases reposent sur des tables, sur ces vases est inscrit un H (Henri). Les vases sont faits en porcelaine de Sèvres, ils représentent l’installation de la statue d’Henri IV à Paris sur le Pont-Neuf. Un merveilleux fauteuil hollandais accueillait Henri IV autrefois.

La Table des Cents Couverts

La Table des Cent Couverts
D’origine française, la table fut installée au château sous Louis-Philippe. Fabriquée en noyer et en chêne, la table aux cent couverts peut accueillir cent hommes et cent couverts comme l’indique son nom. De forme ovale, elle mesure 18m de long et 2m de large en son centre. La table est entièrement démontable puisque posée sur des tréteaux.
Elle est située dans le grand salon. Le salon est immense. Une statue d’Henri IV, entourée d’un somptueux portique en pierre sculptée occupe le fond de la pièce. Cinq tapisseries décorent les murs. De grandes fenêtres aux rideaux verts éclairent la pièce.
De magnifiques lustres agrémentent le plafond. Une centaine de chaises sont alignées contre le mur. Le salon est très impressionnant !

Chambres et lits...
Les lits à baldaquins ont été fabriqués vers 1400. On peut en admirer quelques-uns au château de Pau. Ce sont des lits avec un "ciel". Ce ciel est en bois sculpté. La sculpture est inspirée directement de l’architecture. Quand les personnes se couchaient, elles voyaient de beaux tissus aux couleurs assez foncées. La tapisserie est elle-même décorée de feuilles d’or. Il y a toujours sur les lits des oreillers ou des traversins car les gens dormaient assis. Un escabeau à trois marches permettaient d’accéder au lit.